top of page

Make a Joyful Noise

Warning, this is not an accusation. Why do we sing at church? Everyone knows that when you attend church the first portion of it involves a group of people leading the congregation in singing to worship our heavenly Father. If any of you are like me, you may have asked why do we sing to worship God? Some of us have been gifted with beautiful voices, others, like myself, make a joyful noise to the Lord; while still others just don’t sing.

You see for me, I’m not a big singer. I really don’t sing in the car, I don’t sing in the shower, and the only reason I took a semester of choir was to fulfill a graduation credit in the fine arts category for high school. I’ve been to concerts and appreciate a good voice, but I really don’t care to sing…in fact, sometimes singing in church is one of my least favorite things to do during the service…did I just say that?!?

Growing up, my Mom forced me to sing. Many times the only reason I sang was to avoid any punishment from my Mom. Over time though, I would still sing even without my Mom there, but it was just because really no one else sang except the people leading worship. In all honesty, I just sang because I felt bad for the people leading worship. I wanted them to see that not everyone just watches them.

Eventually I learned the true meaning of worship when I was in choir class in high school. Even though I may not have an incredible voice, the true meaning of singing to God in worship is because he is so Holy, so Powerful, so Mighty; that he would choose to love us enough to send his Son to die for us, so that we would have the opportunity to live with him for eternity. Once I was able to somewhat understand that, I can’t help myself but sing to the King of Kings, Lord of All, my Creator!

I also needed assistance in realizing that, thanks to my lovely bride, Steph. She encouraged me one time to close my eyes and listen to the many voices in chapel singing. I tried it, and I couldn’t help but think that this is what heaven is going to be like. Millions upon millions of believers joining with the angles in singing praises to our heavenly father; I get goose bumps thinking about it. I encourage you that if you’re one of those who don’t sing, to next Sunday close your eyes and listen to everyone else singing praises. I also encourage you to try singing with the worship team and the band.

There are countless examples in the Bible of God’s people singing and worshiping, the largest book in the Bible is filled with 150 chapters of songs and poems praising God. Many of those chapters were written by King David, who was called “a man after God’s own heart.” If a king, a ruler of people, worships God with song and praise; how can you be silent? How did the walls of Jericho fall? The Hebrews walked around them for 7 days and singing praises and on the final day blew trumpets and praised God. When the disciples told Jesus on Palm Sunday to tell the people to go back home, He replied, “if they are silent, let the rocks cry out.” Folks, if you believe in God, our Creator, our Savior from sin; worship is an essential part of your walk with God. Join with other believers in singing to the Maker of heaven and earth.

Alex

Teen Leader


bottom of page