top of page

Test, Test, and Test Some More

For the past few weeks at school I have watched students test, and test, and then test some more. I know many of the students were upset they had to take so many tests and it was both mentally and physically taxing to them all. Students who are normally smiling and can always get a laugh looked exhausted and anxious. For some of the students the tests were a determining factor in whether or not they graduated, but for others it was a practice test. No matter the importance of the test the exhausted and anxiousness was present for each student.

As testing came to an end and students came back to my class relieved and their normal happy selves I began to see the correlation to the Christian life. We all have "tests" in our life, some that matter in eternity and some that are just normal frustrations of life. One thing that happens is when we let our "tests" and burdens weigh on us we get exhausted and anxious.

I have definitely been guilty of letting my tests and burdens put me in bad moods, make me anxious, and exhaust me to the point of being physically and mentally drained. How wonderful it is though when I don't have to go through tests or bear my burdens alone. I am going to leave you with some scriptures that are great to go to when you feel overwhelmed and burdened. Remember that Christ died for our sins and He is there to help us with our tests and burdens.

Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (‭Matthew‬ ‭11‬:‭29-30‬ ESV)

Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit the righteous to be moved. (‭Psalm‬ ‭55‬:‭22‬ ESV)

casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you. (‭1 Peter‬ ‭5‬:‭7‬ ESV)

fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand. (‭Isaiah‬ ‭41‬:‭10‬ ESV)

do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. (‭Philippians‬ ‭4‬:‭6-7‬ ESV)

Sarah

Teen Leader


bottom of page