top of page

Overwhelmed

Overwhelmed. According to Merriam-Webster dictionary overwhelmed means "to affect very strongly". If there is one word that I could use to describe the last couple weeks of my life I would use the word overwhelmed. I am sure you have all been there. It seems like everything just kinda gets dumped on you all at once. The Christmas season was great, but WOW! Christmas, Judah's 1st birthday, New Year, and the Buckeyes in the 1st ever College Football Playoff was a little much to cram into one week. School has started back and my exhaustion has caused me to be a little bit of an emotional mess.

The best part of all of the crazy busyness of life is none of the above is why I would characterize my life as overwhelmed. During school breaks I do not spend very much time in the car or listening to the radio, but for the past three weeks EVERY TIME I was in the car the song "Overwhelmed" came on the radio. Anytime I started to feel overwhelmed by my life circumstances I found myself having my own mini worship session in my car overwhelmed by God's mercy and love!

I was about fourteen years old when I found myself overwhelmed by God for the very first time. I stood in an auditorium in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee, very much like the one we will be standing in next weekend, completely overwhelmed by the God who knew me and cared about me personally. I am reminded of that moment twelve years ago almost everyday! I wish that my human nature would allow me to stay in that overwhelmed state of worship all the time, but I fail daily. It is moments I find myself getting little reminders through songs in my car, words from my friends, and little reminders about how great God was/is in my life that lets me know I can pick up my failures and give it all to the God who completely overwhelmed me daily.

If I could leave you with one prayer, I pray that you will find the place you can get alone with God and be completely overwhelmed by His presence! It is in His presence where we will find the peace we all long for in this crazy world. God is a personal God, get to know Him!!

Also, check out this video of the awesome song God has been using in my life. He just might use it to touch you too!

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=BiGb14tTaH4

Sarah

Teen Leader


bottom of page