top of page

Something in the Water

The last few weeks have been pretty stressful for the Beelens. We have been so busy with projects to do and places to be and to top it off we hosted Thanksgiving at our place again this year. Now I LOVE cooking and hosting but trying to clean house and prepare for 6 people can feel a little overwhelming.. Especially when I procrastinate. Apparently Alex picked up on how I was feeling and let me listen to my old (CLASSIC) country music on my phone without headphones while I was cleaning/cooking. At some point between the mashed potatoes and banana pudding he asked me if I had heard “Something in the Water” by Carrie Underwood. I hadn’t, and wasn’t really interested but after a lot of pestering (“Stephhhh…it is Jesus Take the Wheel good!”) I turned off my Merle Haggard/Dolly Parton and listened to it.

WOW! I was blown away...Very rarely does a song on secular radio have that type of effect on me. It was awesome and full of truth, and really got me thinking. God could care less how clean my house is or whether or not I burned Thanksgiving dinner... its all about Him – what He did, continues to do, and is doing through me. The song repeats several times “Now I’m changed” and boy, is that the TRUTH! Looking at my life it is scary to think where I was before His grace saved me; even 2 years ago when we first came to Big Branch I can look back and definitely see where I have grown spiritually. That is an awesome and humbling feeling to serve such an awesome God and be a part of a local church that I know God has used to help “grow” me.

The good news is it has nothing to do with the water, its all the Holy Spirit. He is GOOD – all the time! The Grand Opening service was a great reminder of that. It was exactly the rest and rejuvenation I have been needing lately. To top it off the Baptisms were an amazing time of celebration of the faith of several people - including four of our teens from BBYM – Katie, Kaitlyn, Hannah, and Emily. I know I speak for all of the adults when I say it has been such a blessing to know these ladies and watch them grow in their faith with Christ. It is a pretty big decision to choose to go before a larger congregation to get “dunked” but these girls and the others did it because they felt moved to do so by the Holy Spirit – Praise God! I get goosebumps thinking about how the Lord has transformed my life, just like I know he will continue to transform our teens.

We love you guys, dearly. Know that we are praying for you all and are very proud of you – especially to see you grow and put your faith on display!

Something in the Water by Carrie Underwood: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XZ2kdx4zZUY

Stephanie

BBYM Leader / "Game Gal"


bottom of page