top of page

Sharing or Boasting?

A few evenings ago I posted a picture of my cute little ones on Instagram and Facebook, then I put my phone down and did a few things around the house. I came back to my phone after a while and picked it up to (I'm sure no one else ever does this...) see who had liked the picture. However - my thumb slipped and I opened the app right next to my Instragram app - which just so happened to be my Bible app. Here is what the verse of the day was:

"Don't be selfish; don't try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don't look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too." - Philippians 2:3-4 NLT

Hmmmmm, "don't try to impress others..."

Well, I immediately questioned why exactly I was checking my Instagram in the first place and I really wished at that moment that there was some better sounding reason than me just checking to see who saw my post. So for me.... I do think God was sending me a message to make me think just a little bit about my motives.

Now, with that said - I am in no way against social media. I also do really enjoy looking at pictures about what is going on with my friends and their families. But, I just wanted to share my "ah-ha moment" and I am going to try to keep my focus more in check concerning things I post. Yes, I think my kids are great and adorable and I want to share them with all of you. However, there is a fine line and sharing can sometimes turn into a form of building yourself up infront of others.

I thank God for His reminder that I need to "be humble" and point my focus outward.

Kristen

Teen Leader


bottom of page