top of page

Out of the Box

Growing up music has always been a focal point in my life. I remember my first real experience with music and how I first related to a particular song and enjoyed listening to it. Now, as a maturing musician and most importantly a Christian, I am finally beginning to understand the impact of musical lyrics in Christian songs as well as secular songs. To tell you the truth I never listened to much Christian music. But, I did listen to artists like Switchfoot, Relient k, and some Christian hard rock or metal like August Burns Red and For Today.

As of a few years ago I began listening to the walk FM and K love on the radio and realized that I really had no clue that all of this straight-forward, direct message gospel music was out there. I realized that I’ve been behind! So as I began to catch up listening to these wonderful, inspiring, encouraging, and positive songs specifically directed towards Christians who want to worship and praise Jesus, I began to think about my past listening experience and began to question whether or not secular music was good for me to listen to. For example; Are there any messages about Christianity in those songs? Or; Are they any different than just regular popular music?

Curious, I began to go back and listen to old songs by Switchfoot and Relient K and in that discovering my absolute favorite artist, Owl City. I discovered many hidden, indirect messages that obviously lifted up the name of God but just in such a mysterious, unique way that was still positive and inspiring.

Aside from music for a moment, I like to think of some Christians and Christian musicians as “In the box”, the ones who stick to protocol, which I am all for, don’t get me wrong because without the protocol (the Bible) there is absolutely no purpose for anything in life. But I also enjoy the philosophy of being an “Out of the Box” Christian on top of being a dedicated follower of the word. One who follows the bible’s instruction but translating it into a modern understanding to reach out to the skeptic, inconsiderate, and incomprehensive. And also to tap into the beauty and mystery that is within the word of God.

We say the Bible is the word of God, and it is, but can His power and existence really be contained inside around 1900 pages? I may just be rambling here but we say we don’t even scratch the surface of who God is because he is so BIG. (as Michael said recently) I believe God must go far beyond the pages in order for us to still be singing His praises. In fact, in the bible, Jesus even says that He will always be with us. The bible is our example and our tool. We must not part from it but I believe that we can take it and utilize its context in creative ways to touch the hearts of the non-believers and to help society understand it.

I realized that the music I used to strictly listen to was “out of the box” Christian music because it portrayed Christian messages in parables, simply put. And isn’t that how Jesus taught? I’ll end with an example from Owl City, (the creator of “Fireflies”) a truly “out of the box” artist for you to decipher. And be sure to check out more.

Excerpts from “Angels” By Owl City

Living close to the ground,

It’s seventh Heaven cause there are angels all around

Among my frivolous thoughts,

I believe there are beautiful things seen by the astronauts

The indications reveal,

That few of us realize life is quite surreal

So if you’re dying to see,

I guarantee there are angels around your vicinity

I keep my knees black and blue

Cause they often hit the hardwood floor

And I believe so I’m not prayin’ to the ceiling anymore

Namman

BBYM Drummer

LINK TO “ANGELS”:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_d4Kj2u4VN8

“ANGELS” LIVE:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XokveyakgOs


bottom of page