top of page

Ask What, Not Why

We all have junk. We all have baggage. We all have that stuff that just seems to drag us down. We want so very desperately to understand it all. It invariably comes down to us wanting an answer to one simple question... why? Why am I going through this? Why did this have to happen? Some days I feel like if I just knew the answer to that question, I could make sense of a lot more things. Recently, however, God has been changing my perspective concerning the question of why. If you think about it, those why questions demonstrate little faith and if anything have a tendency to promote distrust. Think of an interrogator on the scene of a crime in a movie. Their job is to get to the bottom of things...catch the bad guy and solve the mystery! Our Savior needs no interrogation (especially by me) nor does He have to provide explanation. I've found, at least in my life, my persistence with the question of why often leaves me feeling disconnected and even frustrated with God. A better question may simply be, what? What is it, God, that I need to learn from this? What are You trying to change inside me? What are you trying to do in this situation for YOUR kingdom? You see, our God does not have to defend anything He does. His purpose and plan go beyond our scope of comprehension. Our why questions, however, can create a mentality within us which expects He does exactly that. What questions ask for insight into the deeper picture and put the focus where any change or lesson needs to take place -- within us! It's a different way of thinking that has rocked me. Give it a try. Let me know what you think.

Michael B.

Lead Worshipper


bottom of page