top of page

Simple, But True

Sometimes I experience moments when I know God is trying to get my attention about a particular area of my life that’s out of whack or maybe it’s just a solid reminder of simple things that I’ve unnecessarily complicated. This past week I’ve had that kind of experience.

On at least two occasions I read articles that were written from solid sources concerning Bible reading and prayer. One of these articles I had read a long time ago, and I can’t give credit to anyone but the Holy Spirit leading me to dig it back up. The other one came from a family member via text message.

So what is He trying to remind me, you ask? Well, it’s quite simple. Some may call it cliché even, the two most important disciplines in my life and the most valuable in my intimate relationship with the Lord is… wait for it… Bible reading and Prayer.

In Daniel 6 we read: “He got down on his knees three times a day and prayed and gave thanks before His God, as he had done previously.” (ESV) Again in Daniel chapter 9 we read about how Daniel read the Scriptures that were available to him at the time, the prophet Jeremiah. Daniel’s reading of Jeremiah led him to a time of repentance (turning away from his sin) and turning to God.

Throughout the gospels we see Jesus often took time to get away from the steady pace of His ministry to get alone and do what: pray. Luke 5:16 says, “But He would withdraw to desolate places and pray.” (ESV)

And finally, but not confined to this example alone, Paul and Silas in Acts are found singing & praying after being thrown in jail. Talk about weird! But at the same time, awesome!

So God’s been on my tail about the simplicity of reading my Bible and spending genuine time in prayer. We live in a fast-paced, ever-changing world. It seems like everyone wants a quick fix to life’s problems and culture is always spinning off something new and innovative. But the reality is, we don’t need new solutions to mankind’s age-old problem. If you’re a Christian you know you experience dry spells in your relationship with Jesus. You do, I do, and it’s just how things go in fallen bodies and in our relationship with God this side of heaven.

But, God reminded me that the last thing I want to hear when I’m just not feeling it with Him is what I really need to hear. “Read your Bible and pray.” Simple, old-school, cliché, too easy? Maybe, but that’s often just the solution you and I need. When God feels distant, and life seems a mess, let’s ask ourselves what does that time look like with God? Am I sitting down with Him and His word? Am I speaking to Him and listening through prayer? And don’t misunderstand, we can be legalistic about it, but that’s not what I’m talking about. Legalism and obedience isn’t the same thing. This isn’t for salvation, this is for relationship!

I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5 (ESV)

Pastor Michael


bottom of page